It’s a Chick Mama Life

Three Chicks and a Dude.

That could be the title of my life.

I’ve been thinking the past several days about what it means to be a Chick Mama.

I’m surprised that it has taken me this long to put my feelings into words.

The Ranger and I have been blessed with 2 Mini-Chicks, and as we don’t have any Mini-Dudes living in our house can sometimes be an estrogen-fest.

Horses 1

I love being a Mama, I love being a Chick Mama!

In this household, we keep hairbrushes, hairclips and bands in the drawer next to our silverware. (Not in the same drawer! The one next to it! EW!)

brushes

We have more “Babys” than Chicks in the house, and they have better wardrobes than I do.

We have more Barbies than Wally World, and have been informed that, “Just one more and I will have enough!” several times.

goggles

There are more purses in our house than people, and only 3 belong to me and most are decorated with Barbie or Hello Kitty. We also own more shoes than most shoe stores.

the Designer

But, just so you know, it isn’t all unicorns and rainbows.

Chicks cry, they whine, they scream.

They giggle, they tease, they are huggers!

Being a Chick Mom is pushing through your PMS to deal lovingly and with understanding a pre-teen who is coming to terms with her own hormones. And hearing the phrase, “You all hate me!” screamed several times a week, followed by a flood of tears, stomping up the stairs and a slammed door. I never realized me telling someone that they needed to eat supper before desert meant I hated someone. Not sure I’m looking forward to the teen years, I have the Mother’s Curse on me and if you know what that means nothing more needs to be said on that topic.

Years Day 7 - revised

Being a Chick Mom is to explain to your Mini-Chicks that we dress according to our ages. i.e. You are not an adult and you will not dress like one. Tights are a fashion must and the crazier they are, the happier the Chick! Unless you’re Big and then you think dressing up means wearing jeans with sparkles on them and no holes with a T-shirt that is clean (Big does not do dress up, Baby makes up for it in spades!).

Tights

Being a Chick Mom is to explain that you cannot date or have a boyfriend until you are 16 and here is why. Basically, by then we are hoping you decide to enter the convent or at least taken advanced self-defense. It is also having the awkward “Talk” with the female children while the lone male hides in his office.

My Chicks run the gamut between Eccentric Chick (Baby) and Nerd Chick (Big). There is nothing “normal” about being a Chick Mom; just as I’m sure there is nothing “normal” about being a Mom in general. It’s hard to put into words what it means to be a Chick Mom. It’s what I know. I’m not sure what I’d do with Dudes, but if I knew that I wouldn’t be a Chick Mom!

Nicole at

is talking about being a Chick Mom and what exactly it means. She’s the one who got me thinking about the topic. You can join her on Mondays to see what it’s like to be a Chick Mom as she features one Chick Mom or another on the topic!

4 thoughts on “It’s a Chick Mama Life

  1. Love it! I sometimes feel SO horrible as a parent because I’m both a little chick AND a little dude Mom… but… I just “get” little chick so much more than I do little “dude.” I mean, do you KNOW how often I have to tell the little dude to “PUT THAT THING AWAY, YOU’RE IN PUBLIC!” Too often. Embrace your estrogen-fest! Dudes are gross (but always love their Mama’s… it’s a rough trade off.)

  2. This post actually made me a little jealous! I live with the man-child and the man and recently my dad moved in with us. At any given moment someone is burping or watching some kind of sports event on TV. It’s a whole different world!

Leave a Reply

