Death by Boogers

Yeah, I know…classy title.

But today I just don’t care!

“Why?” You might ask, ’cause you all know I’m one classy chick!

Because I’b got a colb, an my nose is all snuffled up (but only on one side).

I’m pretty sure I’m dying.

What’s worse than the whole boogers issue is that I lost my voice!

Those who know me well are probably laughing hysterically at that idea. I talk. a. lot. I rarely shut-up. In fact, those who love me best know that sometimes you’ve just got to tell me to hush! I have no problem with them doing that ’cause I know I talk. a. lot.

Anywho…

What makes me losing my voice even worse is that my Partner in Crime (PiC for short) came to visit me from Pennsyvlania last weekend, when this whole cold thing hit and I could barely talk to her! And, now I’m feeling h-o-r-r-i-b-l-e ’cause she’s got the most beautiful baby and kiddos and they are all now coughing and hacking too.

Sigh.

I’m the cause of an epidemic of boogers that is now spread across two states.

Oh, and I’ve had to turn down two teaching gigs this week and will have to call and cancel the one tomorrow ’cause it’s hard enough to control a classroom of 9 yr olds, let alone to do it with boogers dripping off your nose and a whispering level of voice control.

Excuse me for a minute while I grab a new box of tissues.
la,la,la,la,la,la…music to wait by…

Okay, I’m back.

Where was I?

Oh, yeah, feeling sorry for myself.

Well, I’m going to have to suck it up soon enough ’cause I think Big is coming down with the same thing. She got up this morning and left her voice in bed. I did what every good mother would do – I gave her some cold medicine and sent her to school with the assurance that if it got worse she could go to the nurse and I could come and pick her up.

I think I’m going to actually call the doctor today though, I think I’m getting an ear infection – and I’m not just saying so in a hypochondriac sort of way either! I’ve had enough real ear and sinus infections that I KNOW when I’ve got one coming on, and this feels like the real deal!

The pain, the a-go-ny!

You might think I’m over reacting to a cold.

But. I’m. NOT!

Really!

Seriously, about 2-years ago I was the victim of a vicious attack of Adult Pertussis (aka Whooping Cough) and since then my lungs have been lousy. That attack left me with a few souveniers – namesly an inhaler and a penchant for bronchitis.

And, if you think I’m going to post a picture of sick me you’ve got another thing coming! So, instead I’m posting a picture of my PiC’s sweet baby!

Sweet Baby 2

2 thoughts on “Death by Boogers

Leave a Reply

