Obey? Yeah, Right! – Writer’s Workshop

Today I am participating in Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop with writing prompt #5 – I sometimes laugh when I’m uncomfortable…or being yelled…or in church…or at a funeral. Write about a time when you laughed at an inappropriate time.

The first time I met most of my in-laws was the day before I got married.

They thought I was crazy.

They might have been right.

I met the Ranger while doing an internship in Pennsylvania (3,000 miles away from home). I was “allowed” to go on the condition I didn’t fall in love, get married and move there. Well, I always figured my parents got off easy when I was a teenager, so I rebelled in my mid-20’s.

We got married in the little church that I grew up in, a nice little PROTESTANT church. (This becomes important later). We got married the Saturday before Easter. Our rehearsal was held on Good Friday.

All was going great with the rehearsal until the minister got to the word “Obey.” I insisted this word be included in our vows, not the Ranger.

He knew better.

I went hysterical…LAUGHING! I laughed so hard that I had tears rolling down my face! I laughed for a good 10 minutes while the poor Ranger looked on helplessly! The poor guy thought I was going to call the whole thing off with his entire family standing there, having flown 3,000 miles for the occassion!

The next day at the actual ceremony everyone who had seen the spectacle the night before held their breath waiting to see if I would have a repeat performance. I held it in.

I always chalked it up to nerves. I just had to get those nerves out and was able to go on with life!

I thought.

Flash forward a couple years – we are living in Pennsylvania, Big is 2, we have started attending the local Catholic church – my mother-in-law was THRILLED!

Did I mention that my husband had been raised Catholic?

Did you know that if you aren’t married by a Catholic priest, the Catholic Church does not recognize your marriage?

Did I mention we were married by an Assembly of God Minister?

So, we decided to have a small ceremony to reaffirm our marriage vows with a Catholic priest who didn’t require me to convert. We had to go through pre-cana classes (pre-marriage classes). We could have taught those classes.

All was great until in the middle of the ceremony when the priest said that magical word, “Obey.” And, it started with giggles which built to a full-blown fit of laughter. About 5-minutes later I had pulled myself together and we were able to finish the ceremony.

The next day the priest pulled the Ranger aside and offered to have our marriage annulled.

Well, it has been another 9 years since that ceremony and we’re still going strong!

We just don’t use the word “Obey” unless it is in regard to our children.

Wedding photo

8 thoughts on “Obey? Yeah, Right! – Writer’s Workshop

  1. Such a funny story! Can’t believe you had to get married again. Hope you got a second set of wedding gifts and a shower. 😉

    I’m having a giveaway on my blog today. I’d love to have you stop over and enter.
    -FringeGirl

  2. That’s awesome. I attended the wedding of my then-fiance’s sister and when she said obey, I nearly fell off the bench. My love saw me from across the room and stared me down, begging me not to react visibly enough that his family would notice.

    We didn’t use obey in our vows. 😉

    Visiting from MamaKat’s!

Leave a Reply

