A. Rose by Any Other Name

My beautiful niece ws married this last weekend.

We missed it.

I. feel. like. the. worst. auntie. EVER!

I know I’m not, I love my nieces and nephews.

This particular niece was in my wedding.

She was a junior bridesmaid.

She was 12.

I sometimes have trouble telling myself that she isn’t 12 anymore.

So, anywho, I decided that I wanted to do something nice for her.

She had specifically asked for no gifts. They didn’t need anything. In fact, they were requiring everyone who attended the wedding to take something from their house with them as a parting gift.

But, I didn’t want to just give her money. I wanted to give her something that would make her feel special, loved and to know that we would be there if we could.

For several months photos had been appearing on her facebook page of things she liked, and one particular type of item showed up a number of times – a “Fascinator.”

Have you heard of these?

No? Yes?

Basically a fascinator is a mini-hat or hair adornment.

I thought to myself, “I can do that!”

So off I went to…wait for it…

Hobby Lobby!

I L-O-V-E that place!

You can find just about anything there!

Except a hat form to make a fascinator.

I found a very pretty blue fabric, I found some cute adhesive pearls, I found a gorgeous butterfly, some feathery stuff and A. Rose…

…but nothing to put it on!

So, I went to the next best store…

LOWE’S!

It’s amazing what you can find at a home improvement store!

I had looked everywhere for something to use to act as a form to build my fascinator on, but since I couldn’t find anything I went and got some aluminum screening (like you would use on a window screen).

And I made my own form!

Emptying July 7, 2011 123

I covered the aluminum with some white duct tape, and made it look a little turtle-ish.

Emptying July 7, 2011 124

But, then I covered it with some fabric, and voila! a fascinator form is born!

Amanda's Fascinator 12

I added some pearly things…I cheated and got the kind that were self adhesive.

Amanda's Fascinator 9

And A. Rose, butterfly and feathery things…

Amanda's Fascinator 8

And a fascinator was born.

Amanda's Fascinator 6

I had sent her this fascinator in the hopes she would know how much she was loved and missed, with no expectations.

I think she understood because this is what she wore in her hair on her wedding day.

I felt loved and missed.

Leave a Reply

