Yakky Doodle (and I don’t mean the cartoon)

When I was young (i.e. before the kiddos) there were several things I never thought I would ever do

  1. Smell a baby’s bum to see if they needed changing
  2. Go to the bathroom not to use the facilities, but to make a telephone call
  3. Lock the door to the bathroom so I could make said call without interruption
  4. Have a discussion over whether the puke in the bucket looked more like strawberry yogurt than the cherry yogurt the child ate.

It is #4 that I will be focusing on here. You see Baby spent the weekend on the couch moaning and groaning that she didn’t feel good and whining and complaining that she was bored. She had the puke bucket to prove it.

Baby takes after me, she is a fun girl! she rarely gets sick to the point she yaks. The other night was the first time in a few years she did this. Question to ponder – why do most kids start their yakking in the middle of the night rather than at a reasonable hour of the day? Anywho, she moaned, she groaned –

“Do you need to go potty?” I asked. (For some reason most of my children’s tummy issues go away with the use of the toity).

I don’t know.

“Do you want to try?”

Sure.

By the time the panties were halfway down the puke-fest started! Luckily I already had the garbage can ready (Big was sick earlier in the week so I wasn’t really surprised Baby wasn’t feeling well).

I’m a horrible Mama when the kids are sick. I mean, I’m fine until they start to throw up and then you better get me a bucket too ’cause chances are I’m going to go right with’em! Thankfully the Ranger is AWESOME and FABULOUS and jumps right in and takes over. He claims he’d rather clean up after one person than two, but I say he’s just a great Daddy. Unfortunately he slept through this round. But I did okay and didn’t end up puking too. GO ME!

So, I put the poor little Yakky Doodle back to bed and stayed with her until she fell back asleep. She spent the next day lying on the couch watching fairy tales, cuddling up on her Daddy and napping. Sigh. This child is even more gullible than I am. We told her she had a stomach bug. She kept trying to figure out how this bug got into her stomach and was quite worried about how it was going to get out.

“Does your belly feel better, Baby?”

Mom, it’s not my belly, it’s my stomach. I’m a big girl and we can say stomach.

“Well, then, is your stomach feeling better?”

Baby was feeling much better, so when we got up on Sunday morning she was hungry and wanted yogurt I figured why not. So, she ate her yogurt and 15 minutes later we were in the bathroom where she was inspecting what had just come back out of her stomach and whether or not it looked like the cherry yogurt she just ate or strawberry yogurt. From there we went back to the B.R.A.T. (what does the “T” stand for, anyways?) diet and I got to add #4 to the list of “Things I Never Thought I’d Do.”

She’s feeling much better today, but I’ve got her at home due to the 24-hour rule of a yakking child spends 24 hours at home to be sure the bug is out of her system so she doesn’t infect any other child. Besides, it gives me an excuse to watch Disney Junior and PBS Kids all day!

Sorry, no pictures to go with this entry…poor thing looked too pathetic.

Leave a Reply

