Book Review – Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series

You wanna know something?

I like to read.

I like to read A LOT!

When I pick up a new book, I swear I can hear the angels in heaven singing the Hallelujah Chorus.

I have the best career possible for someone who likes to read.

Technically, I am a librarian! No, my hair isn’t in a severe bun and I don’t “Shush!” people very often. I do however wear glasses that are usually perched on the end of my nose (they slip a lot)

One of my favorite things about being a librarian is introducing people to new books and authors so don’t be surprised if you come across book reviews when reading my blog. (If I can ever figure out how to set up new categories, Book Reviews will be one of them).

For today, Class, I will be talking about Patricia Briggs and her Mercy Thompson series. The series isn’t exactly new, there are 6 volumes so far, but it was new to me! The three I have read (so far) are: Moon Called (Book 1), Blood Bound (Book 2), and Iron Kissed (Book 3).



(all images for these books are from Patricia Biggs official website http://www.patriciabriggs.com/books/)

Those who are fans of Kim Harrison, Charlaine Harris, and Laurel K. Hamilton should give this series a try!

This series takes place in my home state of Washington in the Tri-Cities area and in a world where the Fey have come out of hiding the fairies are living alongside the average human beings. This series has fairies, vampires, werewolves, coyotes and other creatures that go bump in the night.

No, don’t go back and read that again, I did say coyotes. Mercy Thompson, the main character, is a mechanic and a “Walker” who can change into a coyote on whim. It could be considered fantasy smut, but the first three books don’t really have much in the way of smut.

Book one, Moon Called introduces Mercy and a core cast of characters that you will see throughout the series. Unlike many series, the core cast in these books don’t make you flip back and trying to wrack you brain to remember who is who!

The cover of the books are a little iffy – chick with tons of colorful tattoos and sometimes a car. If I went by the cover alone, I probably wouldn’t have picked them up. But I liked the that the books moved along at a fairly good pace. I have a tendency to skim read the parts that get boring and these held my attention fairly well. I liked that the main character was strong and independent. She is sort of typical for a “supernatural romance” heroine, but she was different enough that I didn’t feel like I was reading a cookie cutter book.

You know, cookie cutter, every story is the same – strong heroine with special skill, insert vampire / werewolf, insert problem, insert solution of which the heroine plays a strong part, insert happy ending. It does follow this recipe to a point, but it was still a good read.

Now, if I can just get my hands on the next three books! FAST!

For a complete list of Patricia Biggs books and sample chapters, visit her website at http://www.patriciabriggs.com/books/.

Leave a Reply

