What, Sissy, No Wally?

So, last year I made some sort of “Goals.”

Two to be exact.

Goal 1: More self reliant children

Goal 2: Save money with M’ah coupons!

I bet you’ve just been DYING to know what happened! 

Right?

Well, Goal 1 with the kids was something that was a forced action.

The Ranger injured his back in May, and spent the entire summer in bed.

Isn’t this the sweetest photo! (Dear, Ranger,I hope you don’t divorce me for sharing it!)

Image

We are still traveling the road to recovery. It has been bumpy, but we are persevering!

However, over the summer, the girls took on a lot of responsibility.

They fetched and carried for their Daddy. 

They fixed their own breakfast and lunch while I was at work.

They tried NOT to kill each other.

Baby is now the gourmet toast maker in the family.

Image

She cooks it gangsta style!

Her specialty is cinnamon and sugar toast, macaroni and cheese and Spaghettio’s.

Big is a hot dog, microwave pancake, and frozen pretzel connoisseur. 

They both have shown the ability to clean and tidy.

Although, I’ve noticed that them knowing how to do it and doing it are two different things!

Baby is rarely tidy, she takes after me. 

Big is a bit more tidy, however, she HAS to leave a book on the dining room table at all times! Apparently one cannot eat without reading at the same time!

Goal 2 took on a life of it’s own.

My three ring binder and I probably have wanted signs in the stores all over town!

I don’t have an exact figure for my savings for the year, but I saved around $600 at Kroger’s alone. I also have a habit of price matching between WalMart and Kroger’s and then adding my coupons. However, WalMart is not helpful enough to show me my savings and pulling out the calculator got pretty boring. BUT, I estimate that I saved pretty close to $1,000 this year in sales, coupons and bonus points.

My personal Goals for this year are a bit different than last year:

Goal 1: No WalMart.

As most of you know, this is easier said than done! Especially in Middle-of-Nowhere, TN! But the challenge was made by the Ranger.

“I bet you can’t go without shopping at WalMart,” He said.

Game. On.

We had been talking about how we didn’t know where all our salaries had gone. We make decent money, especially since I’m working now. We’re not vacationing in Hawaii (Sorry, Bitty), but we have a house, groceries, food, vehicles, etc. which is more than most. I’m not complaining about what we have. I’m complaining about the fact that I KNOW we make enough to put more into savings than we are. 

His response was that it went to WalMart. Their marketers are great! I mean really, how many of us run in for just one or two things and leave an hour later after spending a hundred bucks?

Just me?

Doubtful.

I’m on a mission to A.) prove my dear, sweet husband wrong, and B.) save money while doing it!

So, we’re halfway through January and I haven’t been to WalMart. It calls for more planning on my part, but I’ve stopped thinking, “I’m just going to run into WalMart for this one thing!”

Now Goal 2 is purely selfish. 

I admit it.

Goal 2 involves something I rarely get to do in person.

NO! It is NOT exercise! I exercise plenty! 

It is to spend time in the same physical location as my Sissy.

I miss my Sissy.

Darn, I’m crying.

My Sissy came for a week last Summer.

We went to WalMart. 

We went to lunch.

We went to the Container Store. (we LOVE the Container Store!)

She explained to Big about bratty Baby Sissy’s.

We giggled, we guffawed, we gabbed.

It was all good.

Then she went home, and I miss her.

So, my goals are for me this year and not necessarily for the whole family – 1. prove the Ranger wrong and 2. go see my Sissy. Pretty simple-ish. Maybe.

 

 

3 thoughts on “What, Sissy, No Wally?

  1. Pingback: I’m Alive and I Have Goals | Accidental Southern Mama

Leave a Reply

